20+ Muslim Countries that didn’t seek the Sharia approval before banning ‘Triple Talaq’

The law of the land does not apply to all. The All India Muslim Personal Law Board, a Non-government body considers its decisions to be above the Apex Court. They have always considered their word to be final. Even on the issue of Triple Talaq, the law Board members make it to debates, but never allow the debates to be conducted democratically. They are either seen shouting or commenting about the ‘aukaat’ of others.

The recent UP elections also witnessed a different outlook from Muslim women. Many victims were ready to come out & oppose the practice of ‘Triple Talaq’ which has not served them justice. PM Modi & UP CM Yogi Adityanath have also stressed on a Common Civil Code. At a time when women are nudging ahead in their respective professions, Muslim Women are still stuck at the issue of Triple Talaq.

On October 7 2016, the Narendra Modi Government had opposed the practice of ‘Triple Talaq,’ ‘Nikah Halala,’ and polygamy among Muslims. The Modi-led government has been seriously working on the issue of women empowerment. Muslim women cannot feel empowered if they are exploited & ‘dumped’ by these draconian practices.

A major sect of the Muslim population in India belongs to the Sunni clan. The Sunnis are governed by the Muslim personal Law Board for family disputes & matters. These harsh laws allow Muslim men to divorce their women by merely uttering ‘talaq’ thrice. Off late Muslim women have been using technological means & there have been many instances of Talaq through WhatsApp, Skype & other social media.

Muslim Women have suffered for long under the practice. Many of them have come out in support of a Uniform Civil Code so that their future generations do not suffer from the practice of Triple Talaq. Even the Indian Muslim Fanatic’s argument seems invalid. There are more than 20 Muslim countries which have already banned the practice of ‘Triple Talaq.’

Here’s the list of Muslim countries that have banned Triple Talaq.

  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Saudi Arabia
  • UAE
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Turkey
  • Indonesia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syria
  • Qatar
  • Morocco
  • Tunisia
  • Algeria
  • Sudan
  • Brunei
  • Yemen
  • Cyprus
  • Malaysian state of Sarawak
  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Even the Indian ‘seculars & liberals’ won’t have a point to make since countries like Pakistan & Bangladesh have also banned the practice.

    Tony Joseph