BJP is all set to win a dozen more seats in Rajya Sabha! Why this is a big boost for the Modi government?

Voting has ended for 59 Rajya Sabha seats across 16 states. A total of 33 candidates from 10 states have already been elected unopposed. Voting for remaining 25 seats was held today in six states Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chattisgarh and Telangana and the result of these seats will start trickling in a short while.

While BJP has the majority in the Lower House, in the Upper House it only has 58 members, four more than the Congress. The current strength of Rajya Sabha is 245, out of which 233 are elected and 12 are nominated and 126 seats are needed for the majority.

Analysis for all the six states in which voting is done for securing Rajya Sabha seats today.


In Maharashtra total seats  – 6 Cong, BJP, NCP and Shivsena are fighting against it.

BJP has 3 candidates: Narayan Rane, Prakash Javdekar and V Murleedharan
Congress 1: Kumar Ketkar
NCP 1: Vandana Chavan
Shiv Sena 1: Anil Desai

All six candidates have been elected unopposed after the BJP withdrew its fourth candidate. Three seats have gone to the BJP and one each to Shiv Sena, Congress, and NCP.

West Bengal

In West Bengal total 5 seats are there TMC, Cong, Left fighting against them.

TMC (4) – Nadimul Haq, Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santanu Sen

Congress: Abhishek Manu Singhvi

CPM: Rabin Deb

50 votes needed to get through

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool has put up four nominees and also pledged its surplus votes to Congress Abhishek Manu Singhvi, who is the lone nominee from the Congress. The Trinamool and the Congress are set to win, with the Left fighting a token contest.


In Karnataka total seats  -4 Cong, BJP, JDS are fighting against it

Congress has 3 candidates – L Hanumanthiah, Naseer Hussain and G C Chandrashekhar
BJP – Rajeev Chandrashekhar
JD(S) – B M Farooq
Votes required 44

The ruling Congress has fielded three candidates for four seats but has enough to win two. The BJP has enough to send one candidate, Rajeev Chandrashekhar. With 32 extra votes, the Congress is hoping to win the third seat with help from rebel lawmakers of the Janata Dal (Secular). The JD(S) has accused the Returning Officer in Karnataka Assembly of favouring the Congress.


Fight for 3 seats between TRS & Congress

TRS (3): J Santosh Kumar, B Lingiah Yadav and B Prakash Mudiraj
Congress – Balram Naik
MLAs required: 30.

In Telangana, the ruling TRS has enough numbers to get two of its three candidates through without a hitch. It hopes to push a third candidate through, with the support of the AIMIM of Asaduddin Owaisi. The Congress has fielded one in a token contest. The opposition BJP and TDP would not take part in the Rajya Sabha election.Congress is going to lose.


Fight for 2 seats between BJP &Congress

BJP – Sameer Urnav, Pradeep Kumar Santhalia
Congress – Dheeraj Sahu
Votes needed: 28
BJP: 43 + AJSU 4
JMM: 19
Congress: 7
JVM(P): 2
BSP, MCC, CPI-ML have 1 each
Independents 3

There are three candidates for two vacancies in Jharkhand. The BJP has fielded two candidates and the Congress had put up one. With only seven votes, the Congress is eyeing the support of 19 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha lawmakers besides other smaller parties.


Fight for 1 seats between BJP &Congress

BJP – Saroj Pande

Congress – Lekhram Sahu
Total MLAs: 90
Votes needed 46
BJP has 49
Congress has 39
BSP 1 and Independent1

For a single seat in Chhattisgarh, the ruling BJP has enough to defeat the Congress, which is short of seven votes.


Fight for 1 seats between LDF &UDF

LDF (Left-led coalition): MP Veerendra Kumar

UDF (Congress-led coalition): Babu Prasad, Votes needed: 71,

CPM: 90

So Veerendra Kumar will clearly win

In Kerala, the Left-led coalition and the Congress-led opposition grouping are contesting the by-election for one seat. The Left has enough to win the lone seat with 19 votes to spare.Congress will lose it.

Uttar Pradesh

In Uttar Pradesh fight on 10 seats between BJP, SP and BSP

BJP (8): Arun Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijaya Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narasimha Rao

SP (1): Jaya Bachchan

BSP: Bhim Rao Ambedkar

One Independent supported by BJP – Anil Agarwal

BJP+ have 324 seats, Votes needed: 37,SP: 47,BSP: 19

Congress: 7 (pledged to supporting BSP)

Tough fight for the 10th seat between Mayawati and BJP’s ninth candidate (8 of its candidates are guaranteed to win)

All eyes are on the result of Uttar Pradesh. Let’s watch out what is in store?

Thus by all the analysis, it is likely that the total number of BJP members in the Upper House is expected to increase from 58 to at least 69.