Election Commission fixes the date for the Mini Lok Sabha elections! Here’s what you know about it

The election commission has finally announced the election dates to all the 5 states and the entire process will be done and the results will be on December 11th. The states that will go for polls are Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.

The CEC OP Rawat said that the Model code of conduct will come into force in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram with immediate effect.

When are the elections in all the 4 states?

Elections will be held in two phases in Chhattisgarh

  • Phase 1 (18 assembly constituency)

Notification on October 16th
Last date of nomination October 23
Scrutiny of nominations October 24
Last date of withdrawal – October 26
Poll on November 12

  • Phase 2 (72 constituencies)

Last date of nomination November 2
Last date of withdrawal November 5
Poll on November 20

  • Madhya Pradesh will go out for polls on November 28th.
  • Even Mizoram will  go out on polls on November 28th.
  • Rajasthan will go out for polls on December 7th.
  • Telangana will go out for polls on December 7th.

EC to announce dates of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram elections today

Why the announcement date was delayed?

Clarifying on the delay on the press conference on the announcement of election dates, Mr Rawat said “This was necessitated as one state has to publish voters list by 8. Then we found it will take more time. Also, High Court ordered that final rolls to be shown to court then only rolls can be published”.

This clarification was much needed beucase the Congress started to politics over the delay in EC press conference saying “ECI announces a PC at 12.30 today to announce elction dates to the 5 states. PM Modi is addressing a rally in Ajmer, Rajasthan at 1 PM today. ECI suddenly changes the time of announcement and PC to 3 PM. Independence of ECI?”

Due to the clarification, the rumors were put an full stop by the Election Commissioner OP Rawat. Election Commissioner also said that “By-polls in Karnataka’s Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya districts to be held on November 3”.

Even though the elections are being held in 5 states, the attention of the entire nation is on Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chattisgarh as BJP is ruling all these states. In the previous election, the BJP had won these states with a huge margin.

When will the house if these states come to an end?

  • Chattisgarh assembly term expiring on Jan 5, 2019
  • Madhya Pradesh assembly term expiring on Jan 7, 2019
  • Rajasthan assembly tenure is coming to an end on Jan 20, 2019
  • Mizoram assembly term coming to an end on December 15, 2018

Hansika Raj


Related Articles