Government shows door to those who opposed ‘Memorial for all Prime Ministers’, surprisingly inducts Arnab Goswami to new committee!

Few months back, the government had proposed to revamp the Nehru memorial and planned to covert the entire Teen Murti Estate into a memorial for all Indian Prime Ministers. The Teen Murti Estate which is also called Nehru memorial, was used as a memorial to Jawaharlal Nehru only. But the present government proposed an idea to convert the place as a memorial to all Prime Ministers instead of only Nehru.

But this proposal was opposed by few Nehru family associates and close aides who did not want to glorify other Prime Ministers and reserve the place only to Nehru family. However there was massive protest against this dynastic attitude of the Congress party which assumes that all government buildings are their personal properties.

But now, the central government has taken a firm stand and has revamped the entire committee of the Nehru memorial and inducted 4 new members.

The Centre removed three members, economist Nitin Desai, professor Udayan Mishra and former bureaucrat BP Singh, from the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) society.These three members had been critical of the government’s approach towards NMML, with two of them, Desai and Singh, openly stating their problems with the museum for all PMs taking shape in NMML.
Giving a lame excuse, Singh had said that he had “basic problems with the title and the concept of the proposed museum for all Prime Ministers.” Questioning the need for a single PMs Museum, he had said, “If there is a PMs Museum, there may be a demand in every state to have CMs Museums as they are the leaders of the States.” On the other hand,Desai had said that by bringing in all PMs inside NMML, the memorial was opening itself to unwanted controversies. Economic Times

The new committee has been formed with former foreign secretary S Jaishanker, journalist Arnab Goswami, BJP MP and president of the Indian Council for Cultural Relations Vinay Sahasrabuddhe and chairman of the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts Ram Bahadur Rai to the NMML society. The term of the new members, according to a notification issued by the ministry of culture on October 29, will be till April 26, 2020 or till further orders.

Following this, the Congress leader Jairam Ramsh who was nominated by the Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund said, “The people who have been replaced were men of integrity and scholarship.” What is surprising here is, the government has inducted Arnab Goswami who is well known for his hard stance against dynastic politics.

It is good that the government has removed the dynasty supporters and the lutyens lobby nd is giving opportunity to others.

Power Punch


Related Articles