Khajuraho Temples!!! An artistic marvel which represents Dharma, Artha, Kama, Moksha

Khajuraho group of temples dedicated to Hinduism and Jainism, was built between 950-1050 CE, by Chandela dynasty is located in Chhatarpur district of Madhya Pradesh.

There is said to have a total of 85 temple structures spread over 20 square kilometres, of which, about 18-20 structures survived the destruction by Muslim rulers over decades.

The temples are grouped under;
1. The Western group of temples
2.The Eastern group of temples
3. The Southern group of temples

They are dedicated to Hindu Gods & Goddess and Jain thirthankaras.

The Western Group consists of the largest temple dedicated to lord Shiva, along with Devi Jagadambi temple, Chausat yogini temple, Lakshmana temple, Chitragupta temple, Matangeshwara temple, Varaha temple and Vishwanath temple.

The Eastern Group consists of the 4 Jain temples – Paravanath, Ghantai, Adinath, Shanthinath temples, along with Hanuman temple, Bramha temple, Vamana temple and Javari temple.

The Southern Group consists of Dulhadev temple, Beejamandal temple and Chaturbuj temple.

These temples are known for their beautiful and intricate carvings and while 90% of these carvings depict Dharma (Moral values), Artha(Economic values/prosperity), Moksha( Spiritual values/liberation), 10% is dedicated to Kama( Physical love/sex).

The ornate carvings and sculptures depict various stages of human life and day to day activities of both men and women. They exquisitely capture the myriad of human emotions & expressions.

Khajuraho temples perhaps best showcase the status women enjoyed then- as enchantress, as powerful independent warrior, as creator… all woven in one. It shows the chivalry of men and harmonious interdependent relationship between both the genders. It is a perfect illustration of Hindu secularism, tolerance and spiritualism.

A celebration of love and life.

Rupa Murthy


Related Articles