Not one or two, former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee had contested and won Lok Sabha elections in 3 states in his political career!

There are a lot of unknown facts of the Bhishma Pitamah of Indian politics who has been immortalised in the hearts of Indians. In 1945, the 21 year old Atal Bihari Vajpayee had got his father as his classmate, who had retired after serving for 30 years as a lecture. “Have you ever seen or heard of a college, where both father and son studied together, and that too even in the same class” said Atal Ji in an article written by him.

Now let us reveal you another achievement of Atal Bihari Vajpayee. In his life time, he had contested a total of 14 Lok Sabha elections. Though born in Madhya Pradesh, Atal ji had contested elections from 3 states- Delhi, Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. In these 3 states, 4 constituencies were Balrampur, Gwalior, New Delhi and Lucknow.

  • Balrampur (Lok Sabha constituency)

Balrampur Lok Sabha constituency was a former Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency in Uttar Pradesh state in northern India. This constituency ceased to exist in 2008 with the implementation of delimitation of the parliamentary constituencies.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee had contested from this constituency twice and had won both the times. His first term in this constituency was from 1957 to 1962. The second term was from 1967 to 1971. It should be also noted that he fought both the above elections as a candidate from Jan Sangh.

  • Gwalior (Lok Sabha constituency)

Gwalior Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh state in central India. This constituency covers the entire Gwalior district and part of Shivpuri district. In 1971, Atal Bihari Vajpayee won from this constituency as a candidate from the Jan Sangh.

  • New Delhi (Lok Sabha constituency)

New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 7 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1951 and is the oldest constituency of Delhi that currently exists.

In 1977, Atal Ji contested from the ticket of Jan Sangh and defeated his rival from Congress party with a huge margin.

In the year 1980, Atal Bihari Vajpayee contested from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it was the newly formed party and managed to defeat the Congress candidate with a convincing margin.

  • Lucknow (Lok Sabha constituency)

Lucknow Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Uttar Pradesh state in northern India. It is the capital of Uttar Pradesh.

From 1991 to 2009, the Lucknow constituency was held by Atal Bihari Vajpayee ji. This was a spectacular achievement as for almost three decades none could defeat the BJP stalwart.

After his health deteriorated, this constituency was contested and won by BJP’s Lal Ji Tandon in 2009 and later by Raj Nath Singh in 2014.

From reviving Indian economy to making India a nuclear power, from defeating Pakistan in Kargil war to strengthening foreign relations, Atal Bihari Vajpayee achieved what the dynasty couldn’t accomplish in decades.

Even though Atal Ji didn’t want any enemies, he never compromised with national interests. After the nuclear test, when sanctions were imposed on India by global super powers, he showed India can progress without any external support.

That’s why the Indians call him “Ajatashathru”.

Hansika Raj