Once Again Saffron Parties Win In Maharashtra! Even Though BJP Could Have Touched The Majority Mark, Why Did It Fail?

No single party has touched the magic 145 seat mark on its own but ]together  BJP and Shiv Sena gained substantial leads in the Maharashtra Assembly Elections.

The BJP and its smaller allies had fought from 164 seats while the key ally Shiv Sena had fielded 124 candidates as part of a seat-sharing deal in the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly. BJP contested against grand alliance led by the Congress and NCP.

Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray wins from Worli Assembly seat by over 70,000 votes, defeats NCP’s Suresh Mane.

Naigaon assembly seat BJP leader Rajesh Pawar defeated Congress’s Chavan Vasantrao Balwantrao by a heavy margin of over 54,000 votes.

But, Mumbai Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar in Bandra East, Pradeep H. Sharma in Nala Sopara, were among the prominent losers in Shiv Sena.

BJP leader and Maharashtra cabinet minister Pankaja Munde lost from Parli assembly seat at the hands of her cousin and NCP leader Dhananjay Munde.

Although it is considered to be a comfortable win for BJP it cannot be termed as a big win  as it has failed to touch the magic number. It is said that the poll results have led to the possibility of the Shiv Sena and BJP sticking to their pre-poll alliance.

Well, this time BJP and Shiv Sena agreed to fight on an equal number of seats. Although this was considered to be a best decision keeping in mind the strength of both the parties, many were also denied of tickets, which included many senior leaders of BJP.

After the denial of ticket to contest the assembly polls in Maharashtra,  several leaders including Vinod Tawde and Eknath  Khadse  accepted the  decision of the party leadership, But over 15 BJP MLAs contested independently and also have won, which is a major setback for BJP and Shiv Sena.

But, now according to the top sources, the rebel MLAs are likely to join BJP which will boost BJP Maharashtra tally to 114.

That is not, BJP has also done blunders in the distribution of ticket, one such example is of BJP leader Narendra Mehta who was widely criticized for partying with area corporator Anand Manjrekar, when the twin cities, Mira-Bhayandar were gripped in grief and was mourning the martyrdom of Major Kaustubh Rane, the local merchants also closed their businesses and decorated the street with flowers but Narendra Mehta was least bothered.

However, Narendra Mehta faced defeat as independent candidate Geeta Jain won the seat by a margin of over 15,000 votes. In the 2014 Maharashtra Assembly elections, Narendra Mehta won this seat by a margin of 32292 votes, which was 16.8% of the total votes polled. BJP polled a total of 192265 votes.

In 2014, the BJP won 122 seats in the state, while the Shiv Sena won 63, effectively making the Narendra Modi and Amit Shah-led party the ‘big brother’ in the alliance.

The relationship between the two parties has since been stormy, with the Sena repeatedly attacking the BJP on different fronts. Well, although the Shiv Sena leaders have claimed that they will stick onto the party’s principles it is for us to see whether they will continue with the BJP or will demand CM’s post.

Sharanya Alva


Related Articles