While Indira Gandhi released more than 90,000 Pakistani soldiers after 1971 war, the 54 Indian Armed Force personnel captured by Pakistan never returned to India

The entire world saw how the Indian government had forced the Pakistani rogues to release the Wing Commander Abhinandan in just two days after he was arrested. This happened because of two reasons: firstly, India has more friends than ever in the world, which naturally increases the pressure on Pakistan. And secondly and more importantly, the Indian government led by PM Modi had the strong intent of safeguarding the guardians of the nation.

But this was not the case when India was ruled by a dynasty. In the 1971 Indo-Pak, the Indian Armed Force had totally ripped apart the Pakistani Army and ended up dividing Pakistan into two pieces, creating Bangladesh.

In this war, the Indian Armed Force had captured 90,000 to 97,000 Pakistani servicemen as war prisoners. These Pakistanis were deployed in the Eastern Command of the Pakistan armed force. Note that this was the largest surrender that the World had witnessed since the end of World War II.

To put it in a simple statement, India had held a knife on Pakistan’s neck and could have demanded anything in return. But what the Indira Gandhi government did was that it released the 90,000+ Prisoners of war, but didn’t even demand Pakistan to release the captured Indians soldiers in the same war.

Initially, when India had spoke about this with Pakistan, the rogue nation said that it hasn’t captured any Indians. So it was considered that these armed forces personnel were missing, but after few years they were added to the martyr’s list.

But in 1975, one among the 54 Indians captured by Pakistan, secretly wrote a letter to his father. In the letter he had mentioned that the Indians were in captive but also said that he didn’t know in which place they were held. He also urged his father to get this to the notice of India government as soon as possible.

Years passed, but the then Indian government displayed no eagerness to free the Indian warriors held captive in Pakistani prisons.

Here is the list of the PoWs:

  • Indian Army

1. Major SPS Waraich IC-1271215 Punjab
2. Major Kanwaljit Singh Sandhu IC-1459015 Punjab
3. 2/Lt Sudhir Mohan Sabharwal SS-2395787 Lt Regiment
4. Capt Ravinder Kaura SS-2009539 Med Regiment
5. Capt Giri Raj Singh IC-232835 Assam
6. Capt Om Prakash Dalal SS-22536 Grenadiers
7. Maj AK Ghosh IC-1879015 Rajput
8. Maj AK Suri SS-198075 Assam
9. Capt Kalyan Singh Rathod IC-281485 Assam
10. Major Jaskiran Singh Malik IC-144578 Raj.Rifles
11. Major SC Guleri IC-202309 Jat
12. Lt Vijay Kumar Azad IC-585891/9GR
13. Capt Kamal Bakshi IC-192945 Sikh
14. 2/Lt Paras Ram Sharma SS-224905/8GR
15. Capt Vashisht Nath
16. L/Hv.Krishna Lal Sharma 137195851 JAK RIF
17. Subedar Assa Singh JC-413395 Sikh
18. Subedar Kalidas JC-598 JAKLI
19. L/Nk Jagdish Raj 9208735 Mahar Regiment
20. L/Nk Hazoora Singh 682211303
21. Gunner Sujan Singh 114681914 Fd Regiment
22. Sepoy Daler Singh 246183015 Punjab
23. Gnr Pal Singh 1239603181 Lt Regiment
24. Sepoy Jagir Singh 245908716 Punjab
25. Gnr Madan Mohan 115741994 Mountain Regiment
26. Gnr Gyan Chand Gnr Shyam Singh
27. L/Nk Balbir Singh SBS Chauhan
28. Capt DS Jamwal 81 Field Regiment
29. Capt Washisht Nath Attock

  • Indian Air Force

30. Sq Ldr Mohinder Kumar Jain 5327-F(P) 27 Sqn
31. Flt Lt Sudhir Kumar Goswami 8956-F(P) 5 Sqn
32. Flying Officer Sudhir Tyagi 10871-F(P) 27 Sqn
33. Flt Lt Vijay Vasant Tambay 7662–F(P) 32 Sqn
34. Flt Lt Nagaswami Shanker 9773-F(P) 32 Sqn
35. Flt Lt Ram Metharam Advani 7812-F(P) JBCU
36. Flt Lt Manohar Purohit 10249(N) 5 Sqn
37. Flt Lt Tanmaya Singh Dandoss 8160-F(P) 26 Sqn
38. Wg Cdr Hersern Singh Gill 4657-F(P) 47 Sqn
39. Flt Lt Babul Guha 5105-F(P)
40. Flt Lt Suresh Chander Sandal 8659-F(P) 35Sqn
41. Sqn Ldr Jal Manikshaw Mistry 5006-F(P)
42. Flt Lt Harvinder Singh 9441-F(P) 222Sqn
43. Sqn Ldr Jatinder Das Kumar 4896-F(P) 3Sqn
44. Flt Lt LM Sassoon 7419-F(P) JBCU
45. Flt Lt Kushalpal Singh Nanda 7819-F(N) 35Sqn
46. Flg Offr. Krishan L Malkani 10576-F(P) 27Sqn
47. Flt Lt Ashok Balwant Dhavale 9030-F(P) 1 Sqn
48. Flt Lt Shrikant C Mahajan 10239-F(P) 5 Sqn
49. Flt Lt Gurdev Singh Rai 9015-F(P) 27 Sqn
50. Flt Lt Ramesh G Kadam 8404-F(P) TACDE
51. Flg Offr. KP Murlidharan 10575-F(P) 20 Sqn
52. Sqn Ldr Devaprasad Chatterjee
53. Plt Offr Tejinder Singh Sethi

  • Indian Navy

54. Lt. Cdr Ashok Roy

Hansika Raj


Related Articles