Who will be the next Vice President of India? Know the top 3 contenders!

As NDA and UPA is busy in analysing the number game, the Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi announced the date for the elections for the post of Vice President of India.

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional office in India, after the President. The Vice-President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

None of the political parties have opened their mouth regarding who will contest for the post of Vice President. But there are few names that are heard in the media circle and perhaps one among these may definitely be nominated. Let us have a look at their profile.

Venkaiah Naidu

Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu is an Indian politician serving as the Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Allevation and Information and Broadcasting in the Modi Ministry. He has also served as BJP’s national president from 2002 to 2004. Earlier, he was the Union Cabinet Minister for Rural Development in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

Both as a student leader and political figure, Naidu gained prominence as a brilliant orator, who vigorously championed the cause of the farmers and the development of backward areas. His oratory skills and political activism propelled his political career and he was elected as an MLA to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly twice from Udayagiri constituency in Nellore district in 1978 and 1983. He rose to become one of the most popular leaders of the BJP in Andhra Pradesh.

Recently he was speaking at an event to mark the 42nd anniversary of imposing of Emergency in India and said that schools should include chapters about Emergency in India.

Venkaiah Naidu however denied of contesting in Vice Presidential race.

Anandiben Patel

Anandiben Mafatbhai Patel is an Indian politician and the former Chief Minister of Gujarat. She was the first woman Chief Minister of the state. She is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) since 1987. She was the Cabinet Minister for Education from 2002 to 2007. She was the Cabinet Minister of Road and Building, Revenue, Urban development and Urban Housing, Disaster Management and Capital Projects in the Government of Gujarat from 2007 to 2014.

Patel’s entry into politics began with an accident during a school picnic in 1987, when she jumped in the Sardar Sarovar reservoir to save two girls who were drowning during a school picnic, for which she received a President’s bravery award. Impressed by Patel’s heroism, BJP top cadre suggested Anandiben Patel to join the party. She joined BJP as the Gujarat Pradesh Mahila Morcha President in 1987.

Patel’s first notable work was during a spread of bird flu in the Viramgam district, where she spent weeks helping local citizens and appealing to government officials to take strong action. In 1992, she participated in Ekta Yatra from Kanyakumari to Srinagar with BJP veteran leader Murli Manohar Joshi.

But she has not said anything about this speculation.

Hukmdev Narayan Yadav

Hukmdev Narayan Yadav is a member of the 16th Lok Sabha of India and a former Union Minister of State. He represents the Madhubani constituency of Bihar and is a member of the Bharatiya Janata party. Yadav is known for his fiery speeches in the parliament.

Yadav is a Graduate. An agriculturist by profession, he is also a political figure and a social worker. Along with Indranath Jha, Yadav was very active in Madhubani; after the death of Indranath Jha, he took all the responsibility.

Prestly Hamid Ansari is already serving his second term as vice-president. Although the Constitution does not bar him from contesting again, he is unlikely to be nominated by the Modi-government.

In both his terms, he was a candidate of the ruling Congress-led UPA. The BJP-led NDA, in fact, put up a candidate against him – Jaswant Singh – the second time round, who lost by 252 votes.

Nishika Ram