Yogi Adityanath & Manohar Parrikar to resign as MPs only after Presidential Elections

UP CM Yogi Adityanath and Goa CM Manohar Parrikar are likely to resign from their parliamentary seats only after casting their votes in the presidential election. BJP’s party sources told Zee news that since every vote was crucial, the BJP wanted the CMs to resign only after the presidential election. While the opposition plans to field a common candidate, the BJP is ensuring that their top leaders cast their votes before putting in their papers.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, the Deputy CM of Uttar Pradesh, also a Member of Parliament in the Lok sabha will resign after the presidential elections, the report stated.  UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Goa CM Manohar Parrikar and UP Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya have to be elected to their respective state legislatures within 6 months from being sworn in as Chief Minister & Deputy Chief Minister. This is enough for them to remain parliamentarians till the presidential elections in July.

The CMs and Deputy CM can only contest elections after quitting as MPs. Parrikar had taken over as Goa CM on March 14, after resigning from the post of defence minister. Yogi Adityanath & Keshav Prasad Maurya were sworn in as the UP CM & Deputy CM on March 19. The presidential elections are due in July & the vice presidential poll is scheduled for august.

The electoral college for picking the vice president is clearly in the BJP-led NDA’s favour with the alliance having 418 members out of the total 787, the combined strength of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

Even in the presidential poll the BJP led Nda has already crossed the midway mark after receiving the backing of YSRCP, an Andhra Pradesh party headed by Jagan Mohan Reddy. The BJP has to find the right combination as its old ally and friend turned foe Shiv Sena has not voted with the BJP in the past 2 presidential elections.

Source & credit: Zee News

Tony Joseph